Welcome Guest!

Quick Find:  

Advanced Search

Languages: English Español

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional ¡CSS Válido! Icono de conformidad con el Nivel Doble-A, 
	de las Directrices de Accesibilidad para el 
	Contenido Web 1.0 del W3C-WAI

Música en torno al Motu proprio para la catedral de Sevilla. Vol. 2. Obras para el oficio divino y otras piezas sacras

Música en torno al Motu proprio para la catedral de Sevilla. Vol. 2. Obras para el oficio divino y otras piezas sacras
Música en torno al Motu proprio para la catedral de Sevilla. Vol. 2. Obras para el oficio divino y otras piezas sacras

Vicente Ripollés Pérez

Affiliation: Not available

Biography: Not available

Miguel López-Fernández (edicion)

Affiliation: Not available

Biography: Miguel López-Fernández es doctor en Historia y Ciencias de la Música por la Universidad de Granada y titulado superior en Dirección de Coro por el Conservatorio Superior de Música Manuel Castillo de Sevilla. En 2014 obtuvo el XIV Premio de Investigación Musical Orfeón Donostiarra / Universidad del País Vasco por su tesis doctoral, “La aplicación del Motu Proprio sobre música sagrada de Pío X en la archidiócesis de Sevilla (1903-1910): gestión institucional y conflictos identitarios”. Ha publicado contribuciones sobre gestión musical en instituciones eclesiásticas de la Edad Contemporánea y sobre las relaciones entre música e identidad en la España de principios del siglo XX, sus dos principales líneas de investigación, y ha editado el volumen Música en Sevilla en el siglo XX (Granada: Libargo, 2018). Pertenece al grupo de investigación La música en España durante los siglos XIX y XX (HUM 617, Plan Andaluz de Investigación), adscrito a la Universidad de Granada, y es profesor en el Departamento de Musicología del Conservatorio Superior de Música Manuel Castillo de Sevilla.

Close window

Vicente Ripollés Pérez
Edition: Miguel López-Fernández

About the authors 

Publication year: 2019

Language: Spanish

Subjects: Arts and Architecture

Collection: Monumentos de la Música Española


This volume presents the study and edition of twelve musical works composed by Vicente Ripollés Pérez (Castelló de la Plana, 1867-Rocafort, Valencia, 1943) for the Cathedral of Seville, including pieces for the Divine Office and other sacred genres. The study addresses ceremonial, institutional, and performative aspects related to the edited pieces, and offers an analytical approach from the stylistic and liturgical point of view, together with the critical commentary, bibliography, and two appendices with information about ceremonies at Seville Cathedral. The edited compositions are: the psalms Deus in nomine tuo (1904) and Retribue servo tuo (1904) for the Prime of the Immaculate Conception; the psalms Credidi (1905) and Lauda Jerusalem (1908) and the Magnificat (1906) for the Vespers of the Corpus Christi; the responsories Cum complerentur (1909) and Repleti sunt (1909) for Matins of Pentecost; the antiphon Regina caeli (1904); the motets Oremus pro Pontífice and O sacrum convivium (both dated 1908); a Trisagio a la Santísima Trinidad (ca. 1913) with Spanish text; and the Pasión según san Marcos (1940). All these pieces were unpublished, except the motets and the Trisagio, printed during Ripollés’s life and presented here in an updated version. The edition is based on sources preserved in the Cathedral of Seville, the Biblioteca Colombina, the Real Colegio-Seminario de Corpus Christi in Valencia, and the Biblioteca Nacional de España in Madrid. For the pieces including polyphony and sections in plainchant, the latter has been edited from manuscript and printed sources used in the cathedral of Seville at the time of Ripollés to offer a comprehensive reconstruction of this repertory and to facilitate its performance. With the present volume concludes the publication of the works by Vicente Ripollés for the Cathedral of Seville, which had been initiated in a previous one devoted to his masses (Monumentos de la Música Española, 83). This repertory, in which works for choir and orchestra stand out, reveals how Ripollés, a relevant musicologist and researcher, conciliated his creative ideas as a composer with the guidelines to reform sacred music after the Motu proprio (1903) by Pope Pius X.

Table of Contents Table of Contents (0.04 Mb)

Preview Preview (0.06 Mb)

Bibliographic information

Physical Description : 274 p. : 32 cm

ISBN: 978-84-00-10596-9

eISBN: 978-84-00-10597-6

Publication: Madrid : Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas, 2019

Reference CSIC: 13286

Buy the digital edition at

- Unebook

- Casa del Libro

Buy the print edition at

- Editorial CSIC

Free Downloads

No downloads available

This book was added to our online catalog on Friday 06 March, 2020.